About the programme

The Oresund-Kattegat-Skagerrak programme is a programme involving Sweden, Denmark and Norway.

The region is connected by the oceans Kattegat, Skagerrak and Öresund. The region inhabits 9 millions Scandinavians, covers an area of 125 588 km2, including three countries and two capital cities along the cost. The programme area share many of the same problems and challenges. By working together and sharing knowledge and experiences a sustainable and balanced future will be secured for the whole region.

Territorial cooperation - Interreg
The Interreg programmes aim at stimulating cooperation across the borders in the EU. The programmes are divided into different strands, according to size and geographical span. There are A, B and C strands. There are about 52 Interreg IV A programmes across Europe in this programme period (2007-2013).

The Oresund-Kattegat-Skagerrak Programme is an A-strand programme. It focuses on encouraging and supporting cross-border cooperation in the southwestern part of Scandinavia.

The programme is financed through the European Regional Development Fund (ERDF) and a Norwegian equivalent. Decisions are taken by committees made up of national and regional representatives from the three countries.

The programme has a total project budget of around €242 million.